Rest in the Hand

Tucked away within the pages of Nine Year Pregnancy, woven between the lines of the story, lies a poem about rest.

Today’s daily prompt talks about an oasis, a sanctuary, a place of escape. While on my personal blog I shared about this in the post Finding an Oasis, here I’d like to share the poetic excerpt from Nine Year Pregnancy. My place of escape truly is in this Hand…

RESTING

girl hand cross, woman holding cross, silhouette cross

Reaching Up photo by ChinUp!Photography Jen Kuykendall

 

I will rest in the Hand that never fails me.

I cry because my hopes are crushed,

yet I will trust Thee.

Though my heart’s prayer remains unanswered,

I will not doubt.

Your love may deny me the thing

for which I cry out.

 

I will believe in the Hand that saves,

Though troubles break like storm-tossed waves,

And disappointment stings like an angry bee,

Yet, in You, I will believe.

 

My tears fall like rain upon a weary land.

My soul is buffeted by the wind, and

I still find rest in the Hand that never fails me.

Though my longing cries out

from deep within my soul,

I will not doubt, because I know

The Hand that made the wave calmed the sea.

                                                                      Delana H. Stewart (c) 2001

See also:

Finding an Oasis

Fragile

Of Sheep and Shepherds

Where is your oasis? http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/12/04/daily-prompt-16/

For more excerpts from Nine Year Pregnancy, click here: http://nineyearpregnancy.wordpress.com/sneak-previews/

Or, read the preface: http://nineyearpregnancy.wordpress.com/preface/

A fellow blogger has written a great post about waiting, called Waiting with hope. Check it out!

****************************************************************

Need Encouragement for the difficult days:

Is life overwhelming at times? Do you ever feel caught in an emotional undertow?

Three Days at Sea: Soul flotation when the waves are pulling you under

http://3daysatsea.wordpress.com/2012/10/30/remembering-being-rescued/

http://3daysatsea.wordpress.com/2012/08/12/rays-of-hope/

******************************************************************************

10 thoughts on “Rest in the Hand

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Oasis – The Secret Place | Burning Fire Shut Up In My Bones

  2. Pingback: Haiku: The Oasis Within… | Mirth and Motivation

  3. Pingback: Of Sheep and Shepherds | Delana's World

  4. Pingback: 99 and 1 | Delana's World

  5. Pingback: Waiting Expectantly | Nine Year Pregnancy

  6. Pingback: Haiku: The Oasis Within… | The Blog Farm

  7. Pingback: When a Daughter Understands | Delana's World

Leave a Reply

