Joy: enduring the night

Joy is greatest when it follows the toughest trials. For a decade I prayed and cried over this verse: “Weeping may endure for a night, But joy comes in the morning.” Psalm 30:5. I asked God when the night would be over and the morning come.

Halfway through that decade, I found myself on this mountainside one morning. I had left a former-Soviet, crowded, drab-looking city for a weekend in my friend’s village. She and I hiked up to this point (where I took this photo), and I lifted my arms to the heavens and declared: “God is in this place!”

To which my friend replied: “But God is also back there in our city.”

Wise words from my dear friend. Even in the dark, drab, difficult places where sometimes it is challenging to feel God’s presence, He is there! He is enduring the night right alongside us!

If you are in the “night” right now . . . know that God is with you . . . and that JOY does come!

mountainside, valley, sunrise, morning, joy, adoption, waiting, weeping

Weekly Photo Challenge: Joy

blog, Mommy, AdoptionYou can vote once every 24 hours just by clicking the image . . . and make Nine Year Pregnancy the number 1 adoption blog!

8 thoughts on “Joy: enduring the night

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Joy | A mom's blog

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Joy | What's (in) the picture?

  3. Pingback: Birthday Joy | Eyes to Heart

  4. Pingback: Joy – Supper in red | Words 'n Pics...

  5. Pingback: 12-28-13 Weekly Photo Challenge: Joy | The Quotidian Hudson

  6. Pingback: Photo Project “52 Bolivian Sundays” ['Joy'], for the last Sunday of 2013! | 3rdculturechildren

  7. Pingback: One crisp moment, filled with Joy! | Words 'n Pics...

  8. Pingback: Joy « blogagaini

Leave a Reply

