Shaking Up My World

(The rest of the preface, continued from Under a Thousand Drops of Rain and Families for the Lonely.)

Suddenly I woke up in our bed breathing fast, heart still pounding, while my husband James slept quietly beside me. Was it only a dream? It was so vivid, so real! I recognized the words spoken by the deep voice, God’s voice. I could not get back to sleep because of a strong feeling that a little girl somewhere needed me. I tiptoed down the hall to check on our three sons, aged two, four and six, who slept peacefully in a nearby room. I kissed each one gently on his forehead and quietly returned to my room. Sliding back into bed, I wondered, “Do I dare tell my husband that I think perhaps we need to adopt a little girl when we have three sons who need our love, support, attention and time?” Nah! It was only a dream.

Yet this dream would shake up our world. This dream would take me from being contented with family life, church, worldview and relationships to breathtaking heights and deep, painful valleys. Does God still speak through dreams? Would I have faith for the journey ahead, no matter how long or difficult the path, or would I be dashed to pieces on the jagged rocks of the canyon?

*********************************

I hope you enjoyed this sneak peek at the preface to my upcoming book Nine Year Pregnancy: Waiting on God–Our Journey of Adoption. If you enjoyed it and are looking forward to its release, I encourage you to visit my facebook page, click “like” and share it to your wall. If you think this book will be a blessing to a friend, co-worker, neighbor, class member, help me get the word out!

Delana

Leave a Reply

