Fear or Faith

In the movie Beauty and the Beast, Belle must overcome her fear of the beast in order to not only free her father but to also beast castle, beauty and beast, fear, doorways, Pandora's boxset the Beast free. In life, sometimes the beasts we face are our own fears, such as the fears of failure, pain, suffering, death, heartache, disappointment, or closed doors.

Fear or Faith?

In our journey to adopting our daughter, God closed several doors along the way. By the time the door of opportunity had opened (which had eventually led to our daughter) I had reached a place where I was not sure if I wanted to pursue that dream any longer. I had reached a place of fear of closed doors, fear of disappointment, fear of heartache.

Who Decides?

It was at that very moment where a good friend confronted me and asked me if I was going to let me own fears decide or God decide.

Even IF  . . .

That reminded me a little of a story in the Bible about Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego. When faced with entering the doorway into the fiery furnace, they said: “If it be so, our God whom we serve is able to deliver us from the furnace of blazing fire; and He will deliver us out of your hand, O king. “But even if He does not, let it be known to you, O king, that we are not going to serve your gods or worship the golden image that you have set up.” (Daniel 3:17-18).

After praying together with my friend, I decided that I would leave the outcome in God’s hands. I believed God would work out His good in our lives, even if it meant walking through another difficulty. I trusted the Lord to close or leave open this dark doorway, and I would attempt to walk through this seemingly opened door even if it would close like all the ones before it. I would live by faith and not let fear rule over me . . . even if it meant more experiences of pain and heartache.

And I wasn’t left wondering if this was the moment I was supposed to have faith and didn’t.”

“I tell you that He will bring about justice for them quickly. However, when the Son of Man comes, will He find faith on the earth?” – Luke 18:8

For more of our journey of faith, read about the book Nine Year Pregnancy or read the Preface.

–Delana H. Stewart

See also:

Faith for the Journey

He Knows the Way

Family, Mommy, Faith, Education, Inspiration

Leave a Reply

